Pedestal

Do you have what it takes to achieve what you want? I say I do have it. I have the guts to move forward and make you proud. Coming from me, most of you would have doubts about that. ” I bet you’re gonna lose a lot of money.” , “You’re such an ambitious bitch”, “Most people deserve that kind of success, excluding YOU.”..Few lines I’m expecting from people who are so bold enough to let me realize that they’re better than me.  But I know I have everything I need that they don’t to prove them wrong.

Many times I’ve been wronged by people who never really cared about how I would feel. I am my own protector, dwelling in my own haven of unreal world. Sounds creepy, eh? But, no, I tell you. It isn’t creepy.  Not even weird. It is my own unreal world without anything that would seem unreal to anyone. It’s merely my personal parallel universe of what-should-have-been. My only escape from this cruel reality that I have to endure for my entire existence.  Pathetic, you may say. But this is what I’ve always wanted. My sweet solitary life. I don’t want any magic, or even all the world’s perfections that one would die for. I don’t even want or need attention. I just want to be left alone by you. You, who’ve  always wanted the opposite of everything that I am. You who always wanted to do better than what I do.

I am your greatest rival. You are unaware, or you just chose to let it be unknown that you raised me up on a pedestal. Now you laugh. You find it funny, huh? It is funny. And I find it funny, too. Because if you hadn’t really paid attention, let me just tell you, I am your greatest fear. The biggest threat you could ever find in this world that could take away everything you’ve wanted for yourself. We both know that. I am who I am, because of what I do, not because of an image that you’ve painted out of your vile imagination. And that’s what tires me.  Keeping myself alive in your never-ending ocean of comparison. I am so tired of redeeming myself from being tainted by your dark intentions. If this is what I get from being everything that you are not, I’d rather be unknown for the rest of my life.

So now, tell me. Do I have what it takes to achieve what I want?

Mag-iwan ng puna